Let’s Start at Very Begining

It’s a very good place to start! 🙂

So a little about me, and why I am starting this major change in my life.

I have had a pituitary tumor (a prolactinoma, to be more specific) probably since puberty. Due to being very active, and involved in sports since not long after that ( I played a variety of revolving sports through the public parks in Lakewood and Long Beach CA as a teen; I also swam competitively in high school and played water polo as well), it hid most of the symptoms. I quit swim and water polo my senior year, and started to put on weight shortly after (missing out on 2+ hour workouts .. my diet was not unhealthy , nor full of junk food, it never has been). I had put on around 40lbs from October 1997, but I didn’t even realize I had any other health problems until I got married in 2002. My husband and I were trying to have kids, and I was not having a cycle. After blood tests and MRIs, I was finally diagnosed in 2005. My weight had hit 235 by then. I got pregnant, and somehow maintained my weight throughout, giving birth to Sissy in 2006. Over the next 6 years, I put on another 30 lbs. I had my second kiddo, Bubby, in 2012. My weight hit an all time high of 275 in 2015. On top of all of this, I also have to deal with psoriasis, and probable diabetes. Yay me.

I am ready to really start on this path to a healthier me. I’ve done a lot of reading, and research. I am not wanting an over night fix, I want to make lasting changes, in both my diet and physical fitness.  I want to be able to run with my girls. I want to go hiking and camping, and not get winded. I want to go bike riding. I want to be a runner.

Being 5’6″ and 260ish, and out of shape sucks. So where am I starting? I’m going to be using two apps on my phone, one to track my macro diet (40/40/20 fat/protein/carbs) and calories, My Fitness Pal, and one to track my blood sugar levels, mySugr logbook. I’ve also joined a group on Facebook, RH Fitnessdiet plans group. This group page has nice, simple, FREE diet plans you can follow that are based on your caloric and macro needs. As for the fitness part, I just got a bike (and I’ve got a kid trailer so I can take Bubby with me. Sissy has a bike so she can ride with us too) but it needs the brakes fixed. I want to go for rides to nearby parks to build stamina, and eventually go for much longer and/or more difficult rides. I’ve acquired a Kool Stride jogging stroller, so I can take Bubby on walks and (using this couch to 5k podcast) runs too. We also just adopted a sweet, high energy Border Collie puppy, Alice, who will soon needs LOTs of walks and exercise (right now at 2 months old she is still in the sleepy/playful baby stage!) So all of that is basically free 😀 I’ve also got a variety of workout dvds, to mix things up. I was a member of the YMCA, but it was going to cost 2x what the Star Center will, so I’ve closed that membership, and am hoping to join there next month (the cost for me plus child care). The membership is so I can use weights and have an indoor place to workout at when the weather is shit here.

Wow, that’s a lot of reading to do for you! I hope I didn’t bore you terribly! Here is a cute puppy picture to reward you for your effort 😀

20160522_230939

Leave a Reply

